Ad Hoc Research Administration Faculty Advisory Committee

Reporting to:

Provost, Vice President for Research, Chair of the Faculty


MIT began to revise research administration services and offices in Fall 2019, benefitting from the planning input of staff and an ad hoc faculty committee. The Research Administration Faculty Advisory Committee is charged with providing advice and feedback on administrative aspects of the MIT research enterprise during this early stage, including the learnings from Task Force 2021 and Beyond. The committee's purview is the administration of research proposals, grants, and contracts, including the systems and services of the Department/Lab/Center research administration teams, Research Administration Services (RAS), and Office of Strategic Alliances & Technology Transfer (OSATT), with a focus on the submission and review of proposals and the administration of grants, contracts, and other sponsored awards, including those with international collaborations.  The committee should include broad participation drawn from all five schools and the college. The committee will report to the Provost, Vice President for Research and Chair of the Faculty, and provide updates on progress on a quarterly basis. Membership of the committee should include faculty who have some experience with both federal agencies (e.g., NIH, NSF, DoD, DoE) and non-federal sources (e.g., industry, foundations, U.S. state and local government, foreign government agencies).


David Atkin
Hamsa Balakrishnan
Cynthia Breazeal
Laura Kiessling
Eric Klopfer
Angela Koehler
Retsef Levi
Dave Rand
Daniela Rus
Rob Simcoe — chair
Mike Short​